Startup Parent with Sarah K Peck
Ask Sarah: Business, Parenting, Life
📫 Massive Chaos Energy, Surprise Tears, and Holiday Feels (Bonus Episode)
0:00
-16:43

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Startup Parent with Sarah K Peck

📫 Massive Chaos Energy, Surprise Tears, and Holiday Feels (Bonus Episode)

Understanding your stress response, how it shifts your emotional responses (and what to do about it!)

The end of year time and holiday season can create a lot of extra stress. Not only do the days and months get shorter, but the energy and intensity around “wrapping everything up” before the holidays can feel mighty.

December doesn’t have four weeks in it, it has two (if we’re lucky). School is out for two weeks, the kids are most likely snotty, and we’re trying to wade through airports and holiday parties to get to the dessert.

At the same time, employees and bosses (even internally, if it’s us!) can spring a massive amount of work on people by trying to finish projects, do year-end reports, finalize budgeting or taxes, reply to everyone, and… send holiday cards?

Surprise Bonus Episode!

In this episode, I want to chat about stress responses and feelings. Whenever we go through periods of stress—whether it’s acute or prolonged—our body will have distinct physiological responses, and our emotional response will likely be heightened. Stress hormones create a physiological cascade in the body, and our emotions and feelings can dance around in response to heightened stress.

For me, I have to work backwards from identifying both my behaviors and my emotions (am I running around trying to do ten things at once? Do I have a massive amount of extra chaos energy? Do I feel lethargic and sad? Am I craving sugar and crackers?). Once I start to name these specific feelings and behaviors, I can start to understand what’s going on beneath it.

For example, when I have a surge of extra energy, I’ll sometimes begin massively cleaning the house. This means my anxiety has increased, and having a tidy home can soothe me. (It’s totally fine to want to clean to feel better!) What I do alongside this, however, is ask, “What might I be feeling extra anxiety about?” This question lets me get closer to the root.

Naming and then exploring what greater context is creating these emotional reactions. I can start to hone in on my stress level and see what’s going on, and find ways to address it (and cope with it).

As we approach the holidays, I thought I’d drop this episode, because I know have more people around can add to our stress levels, and ALL the feelings can come out with (and at) our various family members.


Every month I record a private episode of the podcast that’s exclusively for paid subscribers. “Ask Sarah” is a podcast for you to ask me questions about business, life, parenting, or anything you’re curious about. To get access to all the monthly episodes, bonus episodes, and other perks, you’ll need to be a paid subscriber.

Got a question you want me to take a look at, or just want to know my opinion on something? Become a paid subscriber to get access to the podcast and ask me any questions you’d like.

IN THIS EPISODE:

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Startup Parent with Sarah K Peck to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Startup Parent with Sarah K Peck
Ask Sarah: Business, Parenting, Life
Running a business and you've got kids? This podcast is for you. We taught about entrepreneurship, parenting, leadership, work culture, and yes, dealing with kids.
Brought to you by Sarah K Peck, this is a private, members-only podcast for people who upgrade to become paid subscribers.